23-1500

CITY COUNCIL BRIEFING CITY COUNCIL CHAMBER, CITY HALL/VIDEO CONFERENCE MAYOR ERIC JOHNSON, PRESIDING

PRESENT: [15] Johnson, Atkins (**10:04 a.m.), Arnold (**10:04 a.m.), West (**9:36 a.m.), Moreno Gracey, Resendez, Narvaez, *Bazaldua, Blackmon, Stewart, Schultz, Mendelsohn, Willis, Ridley

ABSENT: [0]

The meeting was called to order at 9:20 a.m. with a quorum of the city council present.

The invocation was given by Rabbi Andrew Paley Chaplain with the Dallas Police Department.

Mayor Johnson led the pledge of allegiances of the United States of America and Texas State Flag.

The meeting agenda, posted in accordance with Chapter 551, "OPEN MEETINGS," of the Texas Government Code, was presented.

The meeting recessed at 12:26 p.m. and reconvened to open session at 1:48 p.m. [Moreno (**1:56 p.m.); Narvaez (**1:51 p.m.)]

After all business properly brought before the city council had been considered, the city council adjourned at 3:07 p.m.

ATTEST:	Mayor	
City Secretary	Date Approved	

The annotated agenda is attached to the minutes of this meeting as EXHIBIT A.

The actions taken on each matter considered by the city council are attached to the minutes of this meeting as EXHIBIT B.

A reconsideration pertaining to a matter considered by the city council is filed with the City Secretary and is comprised of EXHIBIT C to the minutes of this meeting.

*Note: Members of the City Council participated in this meeting by video conference.

^{**}Note: Indicates arrival time after meeting called to order/reconvened

EXHIBIT A

EXHIBIT B

NOVEMBER 1, 2023

23-1501

SPECIAL PRESENTATIONS

At the beginning of each briefing meeting of the city council a time is set aside for the mayor and city council to recognize special individuals or groups, to read mayoral proclamations, to confer honorary citizenships, and to make special presentations.

NOVEMBER 1, 2023

23-1502

CITIZEN SPEAKERS

In accordance with the City Council Rules of Procedure, the city council provided "open microphone" opportunities for the following individuals to comment on matters that were scheduled on the city council voting agenda or to present concerns or address issues that were not matters for consideration listed on the posted meeting agenda:

OPEN MICROPHONE – BEGINNING OF MEETING:

SPEAKER: Lakolya London, 722 Green Tree Ln. SUBJECT: No law & order in DeSoto or Duncanville

SPEAKER: Steven Klein, 6427 Bordeaux Ave. (handout provided/visual presentation)

SUBJECT: Dallas Love Field Voluntary Noise Program REPRESENTING: Love Field Citizens Action Committee

SPEAKER: Patricia Simon, 4519 Gaston Ave.

SUBJECT: Fluoridation in water

SPEAKER: Kerri Lacher, 4714 Stanford Ave.

SUBJECT: Dallas Love Field Voluntary Noise Program

SPEAKER: Arman Arashvand, 5432 Goodwin Ave. (handout provided)

SUBJECT: State of the government

<u>OPEN MICROPHONE – END OF MEETING:</u>

There were no speakers under this category.

NOVEMBER 1, 2023

23-1503

Item 1: Approval of Minutes of the October 18, 2023 City Council Meeting

Councilmember Mendelsohn moved to adopt the minutes as presented.

Motion seconded by Councilmember West and unanimously adopted. (Arnold, Atkins absent when vote taken)

NOVEMBER 1, 2023

23-1504

Item 2: Consideration of appointments to boards and commissions and the evaluation and duties of board and commission members (List of nominees is available in the City Secretary's Office)

The city secretary distributed a report showing nominations were received and indicated the nominees met qualifications for service with the terms for appointment for the 2023-2025 term.

Councilmember Mendelsohn moved to appoint the following:

- Derrick Nutall to the Board of Adjustments;
- Brandy Treadway to the City Plan and Zoning Commission;
- Criss Lee, 5+ Years of Professional Experience in Business, to the Civil Service Board Adjunct Members;
- Esther Villareal, General Public, to the Environmental Commission;
- Diane Sherman, Historian, to the Landmark Commission;
- Thomas Conner and Priscilla Rice to the Park and Recreation Board;
- Johnny Jefferson, Efrain Vera and Angela Willis to the Permit and License Appeal Board:
- J. Peter Kline, 55+ Years of Age, to the Senior Affairs Commission;
- Karl Enriquez, Business Development Operations, to the South Dallas/Fair Park Opportunity Fund Board;
- Jjordynn Jacobs to the Youth Commission;
- Diane Ragsdale to the Reinvestment Zone Thirteen Board (Grand Park South); and
- Debbie Solis to the Reinvestment Zone Fifteen Board (Fort Worth Avenue)

Motion seconded by Councilmember Bazaldua and unanimously adopted. (Arnold, Atkins absent when vote taken)

Councilmember Schultz moved to appoint the following:

- J. Peter Kline, Chair, to the Senior Affairs Commission;
- Ronnie Mestas, Chair, to the Veteran Affairs Commission; and
- Esther Villarreal, Vice Chair, to the Environmental Commission

Motion seconded by Councilmember Narvaez.

After discussion, Mayor Johnson called a vote and declared the motion unanimously adopted. (*Johnson abstain)

*Note: Per the Dallas City Charter, Ch III, Sec. 2, The Mayor shall have a vote on all matters coming before the city council, other than confirmation of appointments by the mayor, unless otherwise disqualified, but no power to veto.

OFFICIAL ACTION OF THE DALLAS CITY COUNCIL 23-1504 Page 2

The city secretary provided the following outline regarding the appointment of Vice Chair/(Vice President) to the Park and Recreation Board:

- Nomination results will be displayed in real-time;
- The top two (2) nominees receiving the highest nominations will move forward to the final Election Ballot;
- The nominee on the final Election Ballot must receive eight (8) votes to be duly elected to position

The city secretary announced the following nominees on the ballot for Vice Chair/(Vice President) of the Park and Recreation Board were submitted:

Scott Goldstein Estanisloa Huerta, Jr. Priscilla Rice

After discussion, Mayor Johnson called the vote on the nominees.

The city secretary announced the results of the ballot vote:

Scott Goldstein - 6 Estanisloa Huerta, Jr. - 3 Priscilla Rice – 6

Mayor Johnson called the vote on the top two nominees for Vice Chair/(Vice President) of the Park and Recreation Board: Scott Goldstein and Priscilla Rice.

The city secretary announced the results of the ballot vote:

Scott Goldstein - 7 Priscilla Rice - 8

The city secretary announced the following individual received majority votes cast and therefore was duly elected Vice Chair/(Vice President) of the Park and Recreation Board:

Priscilla Rice

[Information on each newly-appointed member is located in the file shown next to the name of the board.]

23-6471	BOA	BOARD OF ADJUSTMENT
23-6472	CPC	CITY PLAN AND ZONING COMMISSION
23-6473	CSX	CIVIL SERVICE BOARD ADJUNCT MEMBERS
23-6474	EVC	ENVIRONMENTAL COMMISSION
23-6475	LMC	LANDMARK COMMISSION
23-6476	PAR	PARK AND RECREATION BOARD
23-6477	PLA	PERMIT AND LICENSE APPEAL BOARD
23-6478	RZ13	REINVESTMENT ZONE THIRTEEN BOARD (GRAND PARK
		SOUTH)
23-6479	RZ15	REINVESTMENT ZONE FIFTEEN BOARD (FORT WORT
		AVENUE)
23-6480	SAC	SENIOR AFFAIRS COMMISSION
23-6481	SDF	SOUTH DALLAS/FAIR PARK OPPORTUNITY FUND BOARD
23-6482	YOC	YOUTH COMMISSION
23-6483		BOARD OFFICER

NOVEMBER 1, 2023

23-1505

Briefing A: Dallas Bike Plan 2023

The city manager briefed the city council on the item.

NOVEMBER 1, 2023

23-1506

Briefing B: Dallas Love Field Voluntary Noise Program

The city manager briefed the city council on the item.

EXHIBIT C