## RECEIVED

## Memorandum

2023 JUL10 PM 4: 16 CITY SECRETARY

DALLAS, TEXAS



DATE July 10, 2023

<sup>TO</sup> Honorable Members of the Dallas City Council

## **SUBJECT Ad Hoc Committee on Legislative Affairs**

Providing meaningful property tax relief for Dallas residents is one of my top three priorities as we look to build for Dallas' future. Without it, residents may choose or be forced to forgo the opportunity to live and work in our great city.

Right now, there is a critical opportunity to advocate for meaningful property tax relief on behalf of Dallas residents at our Texas State Capitol. As I am sure you are aware, Lieutenant Governor Dan Patrick and House Speaker Dade Phelan announced this morning that they reached a deal that will deliver "the biggest property tax cut in Texas history." It is essential for our city to actively engage in ongoing discussions about this bill in Austin and demonstrate our full support.

Accordingly, pursuant to the City Council Rules of Procedure of the City of Dallas, Texas adopted August 11, 1993 (as amended), I hereby assign the following members to the Ad Hoc Committee on Legislative Affairs.

Cara Mendelsohn (Chair) Tennell Atkins Zarin Gracey Omar Narvaez Kathy Stewart

I expect this committee's work to commence immediately and urge its members to take advantage of any available opportunities to advocate fervently for the passage of this property tax relief bill, which could include providing public testimony at the Texas State Capitol.

This bill complements our local efforts to further alleviate Dallas residents' property tax burdens. I remain firmly committed to propelling Dallas toward becoming the major city with the lowest tax rate in the North Texas region.

Thank you for your prompt attention to this important matter. Should you have any questions, please contact my office.

Sincerely,

Eric L. Johnson Mayor

C:

T.C. Broadnax, City Manager Bilierae Johnson, City Secretary Tammy Palomino, Interim City Attorney Mark Swann, City Auditor Genesis D. Gavino, Chief of Staff to the City Manager