

## **RESOLUTION**

WHEREAS, the city council has received the report of the canvassing committee appointed to canvass the results of the election held on Saturday, May 6, 2023, pursuant to Resolution No. 23-0331, for the purpose of electing 15 members of the city council and pursuant to Ordinance No. 32394; and the city council after examining the report finds it correct in all respects; **Now, Therefore,** 

## BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF DALLAS:

SECTION 1. That the city council after having duly examined the report of the canvassing committee finds that it is a true and correct tabulation of the election results; that the election held on Saturday, May 6, 2023, pursuant to Ordinance No. 32394, was duly ordered and notice given in accordance with law; that the election was held in the manner required by law; that only duly qualified resident voters of the city of Dallas voted in the election; and that returns of the election have been made by the proper officers.

SECTION 2. That the canvass and tabulation of votes cast at the election for 14 members of the city council, held Saturday, May 6, 2023, discloses that the following candidates received majority of the votes cast at the election in their respective places:

Place 1	=	Chad West
Place 2	ž.	Jesse Moreno
Place 4	÷	Carolyn King Arnold
Place 5	2	Jaime Resendez
Place 6	2	Omar Narvaez
Place 7	=	Adam Bazaldua
Place 8	-	Tennell Atkins
Place 9	-	Paula Blackmon
Place 10		Kathy Stewart
Place 11	-	Jaynie Schultz
Place 12	÷	Cara Mendelsohn
Place 13	÷.	Gay Donnell Willis
Place 14	*	Paul E. Ridley
Place 15 (Mayor)		Eric Johnson

SECTION 3. That it is, therefore, declared and ordered that Chad West has been elected Member of Council, Place 1; Jesse Moreno has been elected Member of Council, Place 2; Carolyn King Arnold has been elected Member of Council, Place 4; Jaime Resendez has been elected Member of Council, Place 5; Omar Narvaez has been elected Member of Council, Place 6; Adam Bazaldua has been elected Member of Council, Place 7; Tennell Atkins has been elected Member of Council, Place 8; Paula Blackmon has been elected Member of Council, Place 9; Kathy Stewart has been elected Member of Council, Place 10; Jaynie Schultz has been elected Member of Council, Place 11; Cara Mendelsohn has been elected Member of Council, Place 12; Gay Donnell Willis has been elected Member of Council, Place 13; and Paul E. Ridley has been elected Member of Council, Place 14; and Eric Johnson has been elected Member of Council, Place 15.

SECTION 4. That the canvass and tabulation of votes cast at the election discloses that no candidate for Place 3 received sufficient votes to be elected to the city council, and that it is necessary in conformity with the city charter and the Texas Election Code, as amended, to call another election for the purpose of voting upon a candidate to fill Place 3 on the city council.

SECTION 5. That this resolution will take effect immediately from and after its passage in accordance with the provisions of the Charter of the City of Dallas, and it is accordingly so resolved.

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

TAMMY L. PALOMINO, Interim City Attorney

Holmes By Assistant City Attorney

APPROVED BY CITY COUNCIL
MAY 17 2023
 CITY SECRETARY