May 17, 2023

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, the city council has received the report of the canvassing committee appointed to canvass the results of the election held on Saturday, May 6, 2023, pursuant to Resolution No. 23-0331, for the purpose of electing 15 members of the city council and pursuant to Ordinance No. 32394; and the city council after examining the report finds it correct in all respects; **Now, Therefore,**

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF DALLAS:

SECTION 1. That the city council after having duly examined the report of the canvassing committee finds that it is a true and correct tabulation of the election results; that the election held on Saturday, May 6, 2023, pursuant to Ordinance No. 32394, was duly ordered and notice given in accordance with law; that the election was held in the manner required by law; that only duly qualified resident voters of the city of Dallas voted in the election; and that returns of the election have been made by the proper officers.

SECTION 2. That the canvass and tabulation of votes cast at the election for 14 members of the city council, held Saturday, May 6, 2023, discloses that the following candidates received majority of the votes cast at the election in their respective places:

Place 1	=	Chad West
Place 2	<u>=</u>	Jesse Moreno
Place 4	~	Carolyn King Arnold
Place 5	=	Jaime Resendez
Place 6	=	Omar Narvaez
Place 7	=	Adam Bazaldua
Place 8	=	Tennell Atkins
Place 9	-	Paula Blackmon
Place 10	=	Kathy Stewart
Place 11	=	Jaynie Schultz
Place 12	*	Cara Mendelsohn
Place 13	<u> </u>	Gay Donnell Willis
Place 14	*	Paul E. Ridley
Place 15 (Mayor)	=	Eric Johnson

SECTION 3. That it is, therefore, declared and ordered that Chad West has been elected Member of Council, Place 1; Jesse Moreno has been elected Member of Council, Place 2; Carolyn King Arnold has been elected Member of Council, Place 4; Jaime Resendez has been elected Member of Council, Place 5; Omar Narvaez has been elected Member of Council, Place 6; Adam Bazaldua has been elected Member of Council, Place 7; Tennell Atkins has been elected Member of Council, Place 8; Paula Blackmon has been elected Member of Council, Place 9; Kathy Stewart has been elected Member of Council, Place 10; Jaynie Schultz has been elected Member of Council, Place 11; Cara Mendelsohn has been elected Member of Council, Place 12; Gay Donnell Willis has been elected Member of Council, Place 13; and Paul E. Ridley has been elected Member of Council, Place 14; and Eric Johnson has been elected Member of Council, Place 15.

May 17, 2023

SECTION 4. That the canvass and tabulation of votes cast at the election discloses that no candidate for Place 3 received sufficient votes to be elected to the city council, and that it is necessary in conformity with the city charter and the Texas Election Code, as amended, to call another election for the purpose of voting upon a candidate to fill Place 3 on the city council.

SECTION 5. That this resolution will take effect immediately from and after its passage in accordance with the provisions of the Charter of the City of Dallas, and it is accordingly so resolved.

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

TAMMY L. PALOMINO, Interim City Attorney

Assistant City Attorney

APPROVED BY CITY COUNCIL

MAY 17 2023

CITY SECRETARY

REPORT OF CANVASSING COMMITTEE

RESOLUTION AND ORDER APPROVING REPORT

TO THE HONORABLE MAYOR AND CITY COUNCIL:

We, the undersigned, your committee of the city council appointed on May 10, 2023, to canvass the returns of the election held in the city of Dallas on Saturday, May 6, 2023, for the purpose of electing 15 members of the city council, hereby report that we have carefully canvassed the returns of the election, and we submit the tabulated statement of the votes received by the respective candidates, attached hereto as **Exhibit A**.

On the basis of the statement of the returns of the election, it appears that candidates received the following number of votes:

For Member of Council, Place 15 (Mayor):

Eric Johnson	44,942
Write-in	593

For Member of Council, Place 1:

Mariana Griggs	346
Albert Mata	1,613
Chad West	2,132

For Member of Council, Place 2:

Sukhbir Kaur	331
Jesse Moreno	1,857

For Member of Council, Place 3:	
John Sims Joe Tave Zarin Gracey August Doyle Denise Benavidez	424 778 1,395 104 317
For Member of Council, Place 4:	
Carolyn King Arnold Jaime Smith	1,684 911
For Member of Council, Place 5:	
Terry Perkins Jaime Resendez Yolanda Faye Williams	452 865 296
For Member of Council, Place 6:	
Tony Carrillo Omar Narvaez Sidney Robles Martinez Mónica R. Alonzo	72 894 72 641
For Member of Council, Place 7:	
Tracy Dotie Hill Adam Bazaldua Marvin E. Crenshaw Okema Thomas	989 1,285 150 69
For Member of Council, Place 8:	
Subrina Lynn Brenham Davante "Shawt" Peters Tennell Atkins	353 78 1,585

For Member of Council, Place 9:

Kendra Denise Madison	948
Paula C. Blackmon	3,721

For Member of Council, Place 10:

Kathy Stewart	3,883
Brain Hasenbauer	1,102
Sirrano Keith Baldeo	93
Chris Carter	642

For Member of Council, Place 11:

Jaynie Schultz	3,906
Candace Evans	2,755

For Member of Council, Place 12:

Cara Mendelsohn	2,979
Cuiu i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i i	-,

For Member of Council, Place 13:

Gay Donnell Willis	5,228
Priscilla Shacklett	2,562

For Member of Council, Place 14:

Joseph F. Miller	250
Amanda Schulz	1,845
Paul E. Ridley	3,497

It appears that Chad West, candidate for Place 1; Jesse Moreno, candidate for Place 2; Carolyn King Arnold, candidate for Place 4; Jaime Resendez, candidate for Place 5; Omar Narvaez, candidate for Place 6; Adam Bazaldua, candidate for Place 7; Tennell Atkins, candidate for Place 8; Paula C. Blackmon, candidate for Place 9; Kathy Stewart, candidate for Place 10; Jaynie Schultz, candidate for Place 11; Cara Mendelsohn, candidate for Place 12; Gay Donnell Willis, candidate for Place 13; Paul E. Ridley, candidate for Place 14; and Eric Johnson, candidate for Place 15 (Mayor), received a majority of the votes cast at the election in their respective places.

It appears that no candidate for Places 3 received sufficient votes to be elected to the city council.

Councilmember B. Adam McGough, Chair

Councilmember Casey Thomas II, Member

Councilmember Jaime Resendez, Member

CANVASSING COMMITTEE OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF DALLAS